About Us: Who is the VAUZ

Realisation: Oriana Schällibaum, VAUZ Präsidium, und www.teamtumult.ch
__________________________________________________________________

Who we are:

The VAUZ (Vereinigung akademischer Mittelbau der Universität Zürich) is the  community/body of doctoral students, postdocs and scientific staff at the UZH. The VAUZ is organised as an association under private law with its own statutes and is committed to the improvement of the working conditions and research conditions of the academic mid-level staff/junior researchers ('Mittelbau')—the largest group of employees at the UZH, with over 6000 or more than 50% of all UZH employees. In 2018, the VAUZ celebrated its 50th anniversary—the VAUZ has been serving the academic mid-level staff for 51 years now.

What we do:

The VAUZ represents the interests and concerns of of all the junior researchers at the University (Mittelbaus) and is active in university politics. We organize the political participation of the junior researchers and organize the elections of our delegates and  write opinions and statements on university consultations and university/education policies. Furthermore, we offers advice and support for its members of staff and we organize events so you can exchange ideas and network with other junior researchers and mid-level staff. We also support your research trip, your workshop etc. through our conference fund (Tagungsfonds).

Organization of the VAUZ:

The Extended VAUZ Board meets once a month during the semester and consists of the delegates in university commissions and committees as well as the delegates in the faculties. The VAUZ board is elected at the annual general meeting, to which all members of the Mittelbau are invited.

Why we need you:

Junior researchers have to deal with a variety of demands: Teaching, administration, research support for the professor, and not least his or her own research project. In addition, we are often only employed at the university for a few years and on short-term contracts. It is, therefore, all the more important that we make sure that our concerns are heard and that we continuously represent our interests in order to improve the situation and working conditions of the Mittelbau constantly. We only have a voice, if we are active!

We are always looking for fellow-researchers willing to represent the body of the junior researchers and their interests and concerns in committees, commissions, etc. However, the language spoken at the University of Zurich is German (French or Italian are also possible)—thus, some German knowledge is indispensable.

A list of current vacancies can be found here. To apply for an office, write to vauz@vauz.uzh.ch

Membership in the VAUZ is voluntary; however, with your membership you help us represent you and the entire Mittelbau as effectively as possible.

Die VAUZ kurz vorgestellt

Realisation: Oriana Schällibau und www.teamtumult.ch

Die VAUZ (Vereinigung akademischer Mittelbau der Universität Zürich) ist die Basisgemeinschaft von Doktorierenden, Postdocs und wissenschaftlichen Mitarbeitenden der UZH. Die VAUZ ist als privatrechtlicher Verein mit eigenen Statuten organisiert und setzt sich stets für eine Besserstellung des Mittelbaus ein—die grösste Angestellten-Gruppe an der UZH, über 5400 bzw. über 50% der UZH Arbeitnehmenden. 2018 feirte die VAUZ ihr 50-jähriges Bestehen—seit rund 51 Jahren setzt sich die VAUZ nun also schon für ihren Stand ein.

Was wir tun:

Die VAUZ vertritt die universitäts- und bildungspolitischen Interessen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses (Mittelbaus) und organsiert die Wahlen für ihre Delegierten, bietet Beratung und Unterstützung für ihre Standesangehörigen und organisiert Veranstaltungen, damit ihr euch mit anderen Angehörigen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses austauschen könnt. Zudem unterstützen wir Deine Forschungsreise, Deinen Workshop etc. über unseren Tagungsfonds.

Organisation der VAUZ:

Der Vorstand trifft sich während dem Semester ein Mal pro Monat und setzt sich aus den Delegierten in universitären Kommissionen und Gremien sowie den Delegierten in den Fakultäten zusammen. Die VAUZ nimmt Stellung zu universitären Vernehmlassungen und weiteren bildungspolitischen Fragen. An der einmal jährlich stattfindenden Mitgliederversammlung, zu der alle Mittelbau-Angehörigen eingeladen werden, werden der VAUZ-Vorstand gewählt.

Warum wir Dich brauchen:

An den Mittelbau werden viele Ansprüche gestellt: Lehre, Administration, Unterstützung des Professors oder der Professorin bei deren Forschung und nicht zuletzt das eigene Forschungsprojekt. Zudem sind wir häufig nur wenige Jahre an der Universität angestellt. Um so wichtiger ist es, dass wir stets unsere Anliegen einbringen und hartnäckig unsere Interessen vertreten, um die Situation und die Bedingungen des Mittelbaus stets zu verbessern. Wir haben nur eine Stimme, wenn wir aktiv sind!

Die VAUZ sucht immer nach wissenschaftlichem Personal, welches die Interessen des wissenschaftlichen Personals innerhalb und ausserhalb der UZH, in Gremien, Kommissionen usw. vertreten. Hier findest Du die aktuellen Vakanzen. Um Dich für ein Amt zu bewerben, schreibe an vauz@vauz.uzh.ch

Die Mitgliedschaft beim VAUZ ist freiwillig; mit Deiner Mitgliedschaft hilfst Du uns aber, Dich und den gesamten Mittelbau so effektiv wie möglich zu untertsützen und vertreten.