VAUZ Alumni Chapter

The VAUZ Alumni Chapter welcomes all former junior academics ('Mittelbau') of the University of Zurich: former doctoral students, assistants, postdocs, and academic staff.

The membership for the UZH Alumni Chapter VAUZ (doctoral students & postdocs) is included in the UZH Alumni membership fee of CHF 80.


What does the VAUZ Alumni Chapter offer?

The focus is on reunions: We want to do something together, be it a cosy meal to catch up, or to talk about the gold old times over a glass of wine or a beer. This offers the opportunity to meet colleagues again, but also to cultivate new contacts. At the same time, we also feel very much connected to the current Mittelbauvereinigung of the University of Zurich, the VAUZ:

We are interested in the development of the University of Zurich and the university landscape and take a particular interest in supporting the Mittelbau and the VAUZ—for example with an "Ask an alumna/alumnus" evening, with professional know-how, and with networking opportunities.

Since we are an interdisciplinary chapter, we offer perspectives outside of specific disciplines: Want to follow up on an earlier discussions with a quantum physicist? With a scholar in religious studies? A computer scientist? A pediatrician? All this and much more is possible in the VAUZ Alumni Chapter!


Two to four events per year are planned, among them

  • at least one social gathering: wine tasting, excursion, exhibition visit, etc.
  • at least one thematic event on the development of the higher education area
     

Are you wondering what an Alumni Chapter is?

A chapter is a subdivision of the alumni organization of the University of Zurich. Alumnus or alumna of the University of Zurich are all "graduates" of the UZH. Five good reasons to become a member can be found here: https://www.alumni.uzh.ch/de/about/membership/goodreasons.html

Chapter members are always UZH Alumni member, once you are an UZH Alumnus/Alumna, you can join any number of chapters. This means that you can have several memberships for one annual fee.

VAUZ Alumni Chapter

Die Mitgliedschaft UZH Alumni Chapter VAUZ (Doktorierende & Postdocs) ist im UZH Alumni Mitgliedschaftsbeitrag von CHF 80 enthalten.

Das VAUZ Alumni Chapter heisst alle ehemaligen Mittelbauer und Mittelbauerinnen der Universität Zürich willkommen: Doktorierte, ehemalige Postdocs und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter wie auch ehemalige Assistentinnen und Assistenten.


Was bietet das VAUZ Alumni Chapter?

Im Vordergrund steht das gemeinsame Wiedersehen: Wir wollen gemeinsam etwas unternehmen, gemütlich essen, ein zwei Gläser Wein oder ein Bier trinken und über alte und neue Zeiten reden. Dies bietet die Gelegenheit, Kolleginnen und Kollegen wiederzutreffen, aber auch neue Kontakte zu pflegen. Gleichzeitig fühlen wir uns auch der aktuellen Mittelbauvereinigung der Universität Zürich, der VAUZ, verbunden:

Wir sind interessiert an der Entwicklung der Universität Zürich und der Hochschullandschaft und möchten insbesondere den Mittelbau und die VAUZ unterstützen – etwa mit einem „Ask an alumna/alumnus“-Abend, mit Know-How und Vernetzungsmöglichkeiten.

Wir sind ein fächerübergreifendes Chapter. Dies bietet einen Blick über den beruflichen Tellerrand: Anknüpfen an frühere Gespräche mit der Quantenphysikerin? Mit dem Religionswissenschaftler? Der Informatikerin? Dem Kinderarzt? Das alles und viel mehr ist möglich im VAUZ-Alumni-Chapter!


Geplant sind zwei bis vier Events pro Jahr an, darunter sicherlich

• mindestens ein Social Gathering: Weindegustation, Ausflug, Ausstellungsbesuch, und ähnliches

• mindestens eine thematische Veranstaltung zur Entwicklung des Hochschulraums
 

Fragt ihr euch nun, was ein Alumni Chapter ist?

Ein Chapter ist ein Unterbereich der Alumniorganisation der Universität Zürich. Alumnus oder Alumna der Uni Zürich sind alle "Abgängerinnen und Abgänger" der UZH. Fünf gute Gründe, um Mitglied zu werden, finden sich hier: https://www.alumni.uzh.ch/de/about/membership/goodreasons.html

Chaptermitglieder sind gleichzeitig Einzelmitglieder von UZH Alumni: Einzelmitglieder können beliebig vielen Chapters beitreten. Das heisst für einen Jahresbeitrag kann man mehrere Mitgliedschaften haben.